bread (1)

Gluten Free Vegan: Information, Foods, and Cookbooks

It’s easy to follow a gluten-free vegan diet. You can find an incredible variety of vegan gluten-free foods sold just about everywhere.

Are Vegan Foods Gluten-Free?

Gluten-free foods are not always vegan, and vegan foods are not always vegan free.

Regardless, finding gluten-free vegan foods is easy. While many vegan foods contain gluten, many more are gluten-free.

Gluten is a protein found in many grains. It’s especially abundant in wheat. If you’ve ever baked bread from scratch, you’ve undoubtedly noticed that kneading makes the dough more elastic. That’s because the purpose of kneading is to stretch out the dough’s gluten proteins. The fact that bread is chewy rather than crumbly has everything to do with its gluten content.

As with most breads and breakfast cereals, vegan meats also frequently contain gluten. Any vegan meat listing seitan in its ingredients is gluten-based. Seitan is in fact pure gluten (plus some water, salt, and spices), and it’s gluten that gives seitan-based meats their meaty chewiness.

Gluten and Celiac Disease

Unfortunately gluten plays havoc with some peoples’ digestive systems. This is especially true of people diagnosed with celiac disease, who should treat gluten as if it’s poison and avoid even the tiniest amounts. Among celiacs, gluten produces an allergic response that inflames the intestines and bowels. Repeated exposure to gluten damages the lining of these organs, causing serious and potentially life-threatening consequences.

Like Crohn’s disease and rheumatoid arthritis, celiac disease is an autoimmune disorder—meaning that the body is attacked by its own immune system. But if you’re going to suffer the misfortune of contracting an autoimmune disorder, celiac disease is clearly the best one to have. That’s because celiacs can avoid any problems by simply ridding their diets of all traces of gluten. And while that restriction is certainly a drag, countless people with more serious ailments would be delighted to trade places with someone suffering from celiac disease.

Do You Have Celiac Disease?

Celiac disease is notoriously under-diagnosed. Up to 90 percent of people suffering from this condition don’t know they have it.

In the early 2010s, gluten-free diets became something of a fad. The trend arose because large numbers of people became convinced that they’re gluten sensitive. But rather than getting themselves tested, they simply stopped eating gluten-based foods.

The resultant mass-experiment with gluten-free eating undoubtedly inspired a number of undiagnosed celiacs to cut gluten from their diets, and consequently witness vast improvements to their health. But at the same time, only about one percent of people actually have celiac disease. So the overwhelming majority of participants in the gluten-free craze probably gained no tangible health benefits. And if you’re not sensitive to gluten, cutting it out of your diet means you’re missing out on an excellent source of protein.

That said, gluten is certainly among the harder food ingredients to digest. People with digestive problems may well feel better if they cut back on gluten, even if they don’t suffer from celiac disease. And there’s always the placebo effect to take into account. Undoubtedly, at least some gluten-free diet advocates have no measurable gluten sensitivity.

Growing awareness of gluten intolerance has created a thriving market for gluten-free products. The abundance of gluten-free foods now available has greatly benefited celiacs as well as everyone else who wants to avoid gluten.

Which Grains Contain Gluten?

Now let’s move on to exactly which foods gluten intolerant people must avoid. Gluten is present in each of these grains:

  • Wheat, including these relatives or varieties:
    • Bulgar
    • Semolina
    • Durum
    • Farro
    • Kamut
    • Spelt
  • Barley
  • Rye
  • Triticale
  • Oats

These grains show up in a wide variety of vegan foods. You can find them in breads, pastries, cereals, and pasta. And, as we’ve already seen, many vegan meats also contain gluten.

Barley’s presence on this list is bad news for beer-lovers, since most beers contain malted barley. But thanks to the growing popularity of gluten-free diets, a number of breweries now make gluten-free beer. Several of these offerings are surprisingly good.

Many celiacs can tolerate oats, because oats contain a different form of gluten than the type present in other grains. If you have celiac disease, ask your doctor to run a blood test to check for oat sensitivity.

Unfortunately oats and other gra

Which Grains Are Gluten-Free?

Luckily, there are plenty of gluten-free grain varieties, which celiacs can eat to their heart’s content:

  • Rice
  • Corn
  • Buckwheat Groats
  • Quinoa
  • Millet
  • Sorghum
  • Wild Rice
  • Teff

The fact that both rice and corn are gluten-free opens up a tremendous assortment of Asian, Indian, and Mexican food possibilities.

Note that many celiacs physically react to even trace amounts of gluten. People with severe gluten sensitivity must take extreme measures, including opting for shampoo and other cosmetics that are certified gluten-free. They must also avoid food made at facilities that process gluten-containing grains. Gluten-free foods may also become contaminated with gluten-containing grains during harvest, transport, or storage.

Gluten-Free Vegan Cookbooks

If you want to avoid gluten, there’s no need to purchase only cookbooks. Most vegan cookbooks (apart from titles specifically devoted to baking) contain relatively few recipes featuring gluten-based ingredients.

But if you are looking for a gluten-free vegan cookbook, you’re in luck.

There are several other gluten-free vegan cookbooks in print. Some recent titles include:

Additionally, Allyson Kramer wrote four cookbooks that cater to vegans who follow a gluten-free diet:

Apart from the recipes themselves, Allyson’s cookbooks offer extensive information about living a gluten-free lifestyle that goes far beyond the scope of this short guide.

Gluten-Free Vegan Packaged Foods

More vegan gluten-free packaged foods exist than ever. Here are some products worth trying:

You can find countless more gluten-free items at your local natural foods store.

For further reading: please see our vegan nutrition guide and our vegan foods compendium.
FTC: We use income-earning affiliate links. More.

Newsletter Signup

Our newsletter is sent out irregularly and infrequently, because we only want to hit your inbox when we’ve got something compelling to share.