Gelatin is not vegan, but it is remarkably disgusting once you learn how it’s made. Nothing appears more innocuous looking. In fact, it’s often a key ingredient of brightly colored desserts and candies. But gelatin’s actual production methods are incredibly disturbing. Gelatin comes from the skins, connective tissues, and bones of cattle and pigs.
It’s long-past time for food companies to stop using gelatin as an ingredient. I don’t eat meat, but I acknowledge that you can make a case for eating it. What you can’t make a case for is eating gelatin, ever. It’s quivering, vile, unnecessary, and nutritionally of no value. Food companies should purge their products of it. So when you see gelatin on a product’s ingredient list, why not contact the company and ask they seek an alternative?
What is Gelatin Made of?
Here is a remarkable two-minute video showing gelatin’s production process in reverse.
About Food: How Sweets Are Made from Eén on Vimeo
Despite its revolting production methods and unfoodlike texture, people actually eat the stuff. It’s the primary ingredient in Jello-brand desserts, and also most marshmallows and gummy candies. Vitamin and medicine capsules are usually made of gelatin, but vegan capsules do exist. Many higher-end supplements come in vegan capsules, and say so on the label.
If you ever get a prescription for medicine that comes in a gelatin capsule, you can often get that prescription filled at a compounding pharmacy that uses vegan capsules upon request.
Gelatin-Free Vegan Products
A growing number of consumers want nothing to do with gelatin. So companies have responded by introducing excellent vegan alternatives to gelatin-based products.
- Annie’s: Organic Bunny Fruit Snacks
- Dandies: Vegan Marshmallows (Nearly all other marshmallow brands contain gelatin)
- Deva Vegan Vitamins: Come in Gelatin-Free Capsules
- Simply Delish: Natural Jel Dessert (Available in 6 fruit flavors and unflavored)
- Sweet Yourself: Vegan Sour Gummies
- Trader Joes: Natural Gel Cups and Scandinavian Swimmers Gummy Candy
- Yupik: Vegan Organic Gummy Bears