Gelatin is not vegan, but it is remarkably disgusting once you discover how it’s produced. Although nothing could appear more innocuous looking—it typically gets made into brightly colored desserts and candies—gelatin’s actual production methods are incredibly disturbing. A flavorless ingredient derived from animal skin and other body parts, nearly all gelatin comes from pigs and cows.
It’s long-past time for food companies to stop using gelatin as an ingredient. I don’t eat meat, but I acknowledge that you can make a case for eating it. What you can’t make a case for is eating gelatin, ever. It’s quivering, disgusting, unnecessary, and nutritionally of no value. Food companies should purge their products of it. So when you see gelatin on a product’s ingredient list, why not contact the company and ask they seek an alternative?
How is Gelatin Made?
Here is a remarkable two-minute video showing gelatin’s production process in reverse. If you’re interested enough in gelatin to have come to this page, this is the video you need to see:
Despite its disturbing origin and unfoodlike texture, people actually eat the stuff. It’s not only used in Jello-brand desserts, but also in most marshmallows and gummy candies. Gelatin is also used to make capsules for vitamins and pharmaceuticals.
Gelatin-Free Vegan Products
Whether it’s out of concern for animal cruelty or out of disgust over its production methods, a growing number of consumers want nothing to do with gelatin. So companies have responded to this sentiment by introducing wonderful vegan alternatives to gelatin.
- Annie’s: Organic Bunny Fruit Snacks.
- Dandies: Vegan Marshmallows,
- Deva Vegan Vitamins: Features Gelatin-Free Capsules
- J. Luehders: Vegan Soft Gummy Candy
- Trader Joes: Natural Gel Cups and Scandanavian Swimmers Gummy Candy