Tahini is a seed butter made from ground hulled sesame seeds. It is one of the most common ingredients in Middle Eastern cuisine, and an essential ingredient in hummus. Many Middle Eastern recipes feature a vegan dressing or sauce made from tahini. Always inquire when ordering at Greek-style falafel restaurants because this same tahini dressing will often contain dairy-based yogurt.

Tahini is vegan and, like any seed-based food, is rich in protein, fat and other nutrients.

Related pages: hummus, vegan foods.


You can subscribe to our newsletter by entering your email below!


Our Top Cookbook Choice: