wall painting

Vegan Sorbet: Information & Top Brands

Sorbet is a frozen dessert similar to ice cream. It’s usually, but not always, vegan. Honey and milk products may make an unwelcome appearance, so always check the ingredients.

Sorbet usually contains frozen pureed fruits, water, sugar, and perhaps other sweeteners. You may also encounter chocolate sorbet, although that’s less common that fruit-based varieties. You can buy sorbet at almost any market, as well as at most ice cream parlors. Both Ben & Jerry’s and Häagen-Dazs make vegan sorbets that are sold at their ice cream parlors and at supermarkets. Unfortunately, both brands presently contain corn syrup, which is a low-quality sweetener that has no place in a premium-priced product.

Other vegan sorbet brands include:

Don’t confuse sorbet with sherbet or gelato. Both those desserts traditionally contain dairy products.

Making Homemade Sorbet

If you own an ice cream maker, making vegan sorbet is every bit as easy as making dairy-free ice cream. There are all sorts of vegan sorbet recipes online. Here’s a nice one from the Simple Vegan Blog.

Related reading: please see our vegan ice cream and vegan desserts pages and our dairy-free guide.
FTC: We use income-earning Amazon.com affiliate links. More.

Newsletter Signup

Our newsletter is sent out irregularly and infrequently, because we only want to hit your inbox when we’ve got something compelling to share.