candy_2131b (1)

Vegan Candy

Whether you’re shopping for Halloween or just to satisfy your sweet tooth, vegan candy is easy to find. You can stay away from brands that contain obscure animal byproducts by choosing the candies featured on this page.

The Vegan Status of Sugar and Honey

Candies almost by definition contain sugar as a main ingredient. This sugar is commonly processed using bone char. I’ve covered the ethical dimensions of this topic on my sugar page. Some candy products also contain honey, which vegans avoid for a number of reasons.

If you’re willing to look past the issue of bone char, you can consider all of the products below as vegan.

Hard Candy

Chewy Candy

Vegan Chocolate

Many high-quality dark chocolate bars are vegan, but always check the ingredients for milk products.

My vegan chocolate page offers detailed coverage of this topic along with a list of popular brands.

Vegan Candy Bars

Unlike dark chocolate bars, very few traditional candy bars are vegan. Here are a few vegan products that are intended to go head-to-head with mass-market non-vegan candy bars like Snickers Bars:

For further reading: please see our vegan chocolate and vegan desserts pages.
FTC: We use income-earning affiliate links. More.

Newsletter Signup

Our newsletter is sent out irregularly and infrequently, because we only want to hit your inbox when we’ve got something compelling to share.